Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Students and faculty recognized at Celebration of Excellence

5/1/2012 —

Penn State students and faculty were honored the evening of April 27 at the campus’ “Celebration of Excellence” event. The academic and student life awards ceremony recognizes achievement in academic and co-curricular activities.

For Penn State New Kensington chancellor Kevin Snider, the awards event – held each year at the campus’s Forum Theatre—ends the academic year on a high note.

“It’s just a time to celebrate a lot of great accomplishments,” he said. “We do this every year and every year, I’m amazed at the accomplishments of these kids. This year is no exception.”

Among the highlights of the event was recognition of this year’s Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, Tansey Ochs, a Delmont resident and senior Administration of Justice major.

Established in 1980, the award recognizes one student on each Penn State commonwealth campus who demonstrates outstanding character, scholarship and leadership.

“The academic awards are just indicators of the students and the academics we have here,” Snider said.

Faculty recognized with Excellence in Teaching Awards included assistant professor of history John Craig Hammond and adjunct faculty members J. Franklin Roach of the physics department and Joseph L. Stahl who teaches in the organizational leadership program.

Among the presenters were Director of Academic Affairs, Dr. Arlene Hall, Nancy Miller, acting co-director, Continuing Education, Dr. K. Robert Bridges, associate professor of psychology, Dr. John Craig Hammond, assistant professor of history and Dr. Donald W. Bruckner. A number of other faculty and staff presented awards as well.

Supporters of the event included the Alle-Kiski Society of the Penn State Alumni Association and the New Kensington campus’ Student Government Association.

The Alle-Kiski Society, which represents 7,000 alumni living in the local region, endows a $52,000 scholarship at the campus. Penn State New Kensington’s Student Government Association co-sponsored the student gifts.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter